Toyota Sienna Forum - siennachat.com banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All-

I live up in a ski town in the mountains of Colorado full-time with my husband and two boys. One of my boys has a disability and uses a wheelchair full time. Given that we receive more than 300 inches of snow per year and I do a lot of driving down to Denver over a couple of gnarly mountain passes for the kiddo's medical stuff, I have been a dedicated Subaru driver for many years now. We are looking at purchasing a new vehicle and my first choice is a Subaru Outback. It has enough room for kids and wheelchair (folded) and lots of gear, but for road trips, we would need to have a box for the top. The husband is trying to convince me to purchase a new Toyota Sienna AWD. Other than my issues with driving a mom van (I'm just not ready folks), I have some concerns about the Toyota AWD system vs. Subaru AWD. If I were just driving in the city, I'd be ok, but winter driving gets hairy up here and our winters last 8 months. The Sienna would be great for all our stuff and for transporting the wheelchair, no doubt about it...but I want to be safe and have confidence in the AWD performance. Does anyone have any experience or comparison to offer.

BTW, I always run Nokian Hakkapeliitta studded winter tires on my current Subaru (which basically turns it into a snow tank). I'd do the same with the Sienna if I chose to purchase.

Thanks and I really appreciate any info anyone can provide : )

·
Registered
177 Posts
The Subaru has a legendary AWD system. If you are looking at a comparison, you might want to compare the Ascent with the Sienna to be more comparable from a size perspective. The Sienna will still have more overall interior space, especially if you need to load up all rows with passengers and need to still have space for luggage.