Toyota Sienna Forum - siennachat.com banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

We just bought a '15 Sienna XLE over the weekend and was impressed with everything except the audio quality. Our van does not have the JBL system in it, but did come with the Nav option in the head unit.

I'm wanting to upgrade the speakers, but have never dabbled with car audio equipment. I'm confident in my ability to do the job with some kind of guidance. I'm an aircraft tech for a living and have renovated my house by myself. I consider myself handy, but am clueless about the basics of car audio.

Could someone take the time to walk me through where I should start? Is it as easy as ordering some speakers and plugging them in or do I need to worry about the power from the head unit being under rated? Please someone explain this to me like I'm in Kindergarten. Give me a good place to start.

If you've done this to your van, could you provide me with any specifics? Pictures would be immensely appreciated too!

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,101 Posts
A few threads about speaker upgrade.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A few threads about speaker upgrade.

Thank you! I'll definitely check these links out over the next week. Any follow up questions, I'll continue to post to this thread.

·
Registered
2016 Sienna LE FWD 8-passenger, 1999 Dodge Grand Caravan ES FWD, 2000 Toyota Camry XLE V6
4 Posts
I read through these threads before buying my 2016 LE. I knew I wanted an 8-passenger and therefore a Limited was out of the question, despite it having the JBL. My searches were mostly between the XLE and SE Premium, but I found an LE which was so low mileage, incredibly clean, and well-priced I had to buy it. But I was ready, with any of these trims, for a lackluster audio experience. Coming from my wife's 2015 Elantra SE with its usually underwhelming midlevel audio system (in quality, not features), I was ready for muddyness and blah.

Not so.