Toyota Sienna Forum - siennachat.com banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI, folks. New guy here, with a recently purchased 2006 LE. We love it! I'm well versed in advanced wrenching on my own vehicles (the Sienna is my youngest vehicle), up to and including pulling/replacing engines and transmissions, etc., but I'm completely new to owning a Toyota.

Just last week my wife reported a THUNK when going over bumps. I took the car to work one day to confirm it. The interesting thing is, it's not consistent. Sometimes a clunk, sometimes not. It does not seem to be related to the severity of the bump.

I did some crawling around underneath and did not find any obvious problem with the suspension. (I was suspecting a failed shock, but nope.) I did find that both of the boots on my steering rack are shot. The passenger side is shredded, actually.

When an assistant turns the steering wheel back and forth, I do get a definite small clunk from the steering rack, and I also notice that the rack moves slightly back and forth.

I have two specific questions:

1. Is the steering rack a likely candidate to cause a CLUNK when going over bumps?
  2. Is the movement of the rack normal, or should it be pretty solid?

·
Registered
409 Posts
There are rubber bushings where the rack attaches to the frame. Sometimes I see posts on here about them wearing out and causing the clunk, you can probably find just the bushings to replace.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

·
Registered
314 Posts
No, I'm sure they are not. It's probaby almost as much work as completely changing out the whole rack.
I haven't done the job, but my reading of the various posts over the years is that it is easier to change out the whole rack. One or two have done the bushings by dropping the rack, but others were not able to remove the old bushings and/or get the new ones in without pulling the rack completely out.

-Mike

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

·