Toyota Sienna Forum - siennachat.com banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to the Sienna family, just bought my used 2004 CE a few days ago. I bought it knowing it would need front tires. I live in a small town, not many options, local Walmart had nothing in stock so I ordered some in. When they arrived today I went in to have them installed. The guy asked some obvious questions, including do you want new valve stems? I said yes, not having any idea the van had TPMS. Hey, I'm just the customer, they are the "pros" right?

So an hour later I leave and halfway home suddenly there is a TPMS light on the dash. Oh crap. So I turn around and go straight back. The service manager says the technician did not remove TPMS and install regular valve stems. Rather, the van must have an "indirect system". So he takes this little hand-held device and goes around to each wheel, performs a procedure and declares it done. The van was idling the whole time and still had the light displayed, so he checked the air pressure and found them to be high (UGH). So he resets the air pressure and the light is still on. Then he gets out this book, and we go through this reset procedure. Eventually I leave with the light off, but once again before I get home the light is back on. So I call and tell him that, but say I am not coming back today.

So, oh wise and knowledgeable ones, what is the problem, and how do I solve it? Did the technician remove TPMS sensors and replace them with standard rubber valve stems? Or is this system "indirect" as he said, and if so, how do I go about getting things right again? I am leaving soon on a long highway journey and since I now know that the van has TPMS I sure don't want to drive the entire time staring at that little amber light!! Please help, thanks!

·
Registered
553 Posts