Toyota Sienna Forum - siennachat.com banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
100 Posts
if you can find it, I have been using Mobile ATF 3309 (which meets the T-IV spec) for the last 15 years. Works perfectly and is usually less expensive than Toyota. I would not hesitate to use Aisin as DC_Dave recommends above. Aisin made the transmission in the Sienna.

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
if you can find it, I have been using Mobile ATF 3309 (which meets the T-IV spec) for the last 15 years. Works perfectly and is usually less expensive than Toyota. I would not hesitate to use Aisin as DC_Dave recommends above. Aisin made the transmission in the Sienna.
What are your thoughts about the Idemetsu TLS, (type iv) ? Or even the CASTROL trans max import stuff

· Registered
100 Posts
What are your thoughts about the Idemetsu TLS, (type iv) ? Or even the CASTROL trans max import stuff
I have no experience with either, so I don't have an opinion on them.

As a starting point I research what fluid specs they say they meet. If a fluid meets MANY specs that I believe to not be compatible (i.e. it is marketed as a universal or near universal fluid), I will not use it. For example, if a fluid says it can be used in place of both T-IV and WS, I don't believe it and don't use it.

If in doubt, I would suggest using the Toyota fluid. Nobody likes to feel like they are overpaying for ATF, but in the grand scheme of things, even full-price Toyota ATF is inexpensive to the transmission that it runs and protects.

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
In regards to the opening statement, reviews aren’t mixed for Toyota type IV fluid. Save money somewhere else.

Sixto
‘04 LE FWD 207K miles
Yeah, I just ordered 12 qts of Toyota type iv. A couple of months ago, I put WS in it, and I was desperate and the only thing I had was valvoline maxlife multi vehicle. So now I just want to put the right fluid in and be done with it

· Registered
2006 LE
2,254 Posts